If you wish to take Government Contract Works, then you have to get PWD Contractor License. Without PWD license you cannot participate in any Government tenders.

Any individual or a Company can obtain PWD Contractor License. There are basically 4 type of Licenses issued by PWD Department. They are Class 4, Class 3, Class 2 & Class 1. In some states they mention it as Class D, Class C, Class B, Class A.

In Karnataka, with Class 4 license you can take projects worth up to 25 lakhs. With Class 3 License you can take projects up to 1 crore. With Class 2 License you can take projects up to 2 crores. With class 1 license you can take projects of any amount.

To apply for Civil Contractor License you will need following documents : –

Aadhar Card

Pan Card

GST Registration Certificate

Solvency Certificate from a Nationalized or Scheduled Bank

Notarized Affidavit in prescribed format

5 Passport Size Photos

For Partnership Firms & Companies, documents like Partnership deed, MOA/AOA, Company Pan Card.

Below is an image of PWD Contractor License issued by PWD Department,

Page 1 of Contractor License contains, License Number, Class of License and whether License is a Civil or Electrical or Furnishing License. In the pic above it is a Civil Contractor License .
Page 2 of Contractor License will contain Photo of License Holder, Contractor Name and Address, Whether License is issued to a Proprietor or Partnership Company or Private Limited Company and so on, It will also Contains Registration Date.
Page 3 of Contractor License will contain Validity of license, Technical person engaged for Contractor.

Contractor License will be valid for a period of up to 5 years. After that, you will have to renew your license.

To know more about PWD Contractor License you can contact 8152999000.